Blog

Since the work of Prof. Bränemark's team in Göteborg (Sweden) on osseointegration, implantology has made considerable progress and has become a highly specialized technology.   Thanks to new surgical techniques, more patients can now benefit from implants. Implantology statistics have improved considerably, with the rate of failure...

The natural color of the teeth As all people are different, the color of each individual's teeth is just as much. There are four families of natural color shades of teeth, as illustrated at right: Auburn (reddish-brown) (A); Yellow-reddish (B); Gray (C); Reddish-gray (D). This palette includes the...

Advances in computing enable the dentist to simulate the placement of dental implants using sophisticated software.   Principle of simulation of the positioning of the implants In order to calculate the bone volume available to place the implants, the practitioner performs a scanner or a cone beam, which...

The removal of plaque helps prevent caries and periodontal problems. Simple rules ensure good oral hygiene.   Ideally three brushings per day are recommended. In practice, two meticulous daily brushings allow to obtain a satisfactory hygiene, if the gum is in good health. In case of...

As with natural teeth, rigorous hygiene and regular follow-up are necessary for the healthy maintenance of dental implants.   Implant complications Infectious complications: implants, like teeth, can be removed. Implantation of the implants (also called peri-implantitis) is an infectious phenomenon caused by insufficient cleaning around the implants. ...

The range of toothpastes available in pharmacy and supermarket is very extensive. Here are some tips to get you there.   What are the active ingredients of toothpastes? Toothpastes may contain various active ingredients (antiseptics, anti-inflammatory, fluoride, calcium, etc.) which give them different properties. Currently, fluoride is the most...

Oral health is closely linked to the proper functioning of the teeth and gums, but it is also directly related to our overall health and well-being.   A few tips: Start dental care early and brush baby teeth with a fluoride toothpaste as soon as the first teeth...

What are the facets? The facets are thin strips, made of an aesthetic material (composite or ceramic) that are placed on the outside face of the tooth. They make it possible to replace restorations on the unsightly anterior teeth or to embellish the smile in a...

Why begin orthodontic treatment? The orthodontic treatment aims at correcting the wrong position of the teeth, the jaws between them or the teeth with respect to the jaws, to find an optimal dentition on two levels: Aesthetic plan: by aligning teeth, jaws, and lips, orthodontic treatment...

Canker sores correspond to small ulcerations that form on the buccal mucosa. Their origins remain blurred even though many of the favorable factors are now well known.   Fatigue, stress, consumption of certain hard cheeses (such as Gruyere), certain fruits such as pineapple, melon or nuts (walnuts,...

Instruments to be put between all teeth Brushing alone removes only 50% of plaque. It is therefore essential to supplement its action with brushes or dental floss. The spaces between the teeth, also called interdental areas, are inaccessible to the bristles of the toothbrush. As a result,...

What are the facets? The facets are thin strips, made of an aesthetic material (composite or ceramic) that are placed on the outside face of the tooth. They make it possible to replace restorations on the unsightly anterior teeth or to embellish the smile in a...

Nothing is worse than the holiday sweets for the bacteria of your mouth. Bacteria feast on carbohydrates (which includes sugars and starch) and we bet you have them on your buffet. We have explored a few of these holiday desserts and drinks to see the...

Your oral health in 6 points   "I'm pregnant: are my teeth more fragile? " No, not more than before but you must keep good habits for your diet and your oral hygiene by using a soft toothbrush and fluoridated toothpaste. For optimal oral health, remember to brush...

Teeth and their periodontium (gums and tooth support bones) can be the gateway to bacterial infections that can lead to serious general pathologies. Origin of infection located at the level of the tooth If a damaged or fractured tooth is not treated quickly, the tooth pulp necrosis...

The surgical placement of implants may seem impressive. Yet it is a relatively quick response whose consequences are going very well in the clear majority of cases. Placing implants in a clinic or dental office The introduction of implants requires strict aseptic procedure. It can be carried...

Saliva is our best ally against tooth decay and infections of the oral mucosa. Each has three pairs of major salivary glands that secrete on average 1.5 liters of saliva per day. Saliva is 98% water, 0.5% protein and an ion multitude minerals / calcium, fluorides,...

Dental implants act as artificial tooth roots and are placed in the jawbone. A no guarantees sufficient anchorage for the prosthesis, implants must be placed in sufficient bone volume. When the bone volume is too low, it can be increased surgically with a bone graft. [caption...

Diabetes may affect the gums vessels, the susceptibility to infection and salivary flow. Another parameter is important: how our body defends itself against infection, also called "susceptibility to infection." Indeed, some general diseases diminish our potential for immune defence and increase our susceptibility to infection. The...

Dental occlusion: all contacts between the maxillary teeth (attached to the skull) and the teeth of the lower jaw (which is mobile). Have a good occlusion is a crucial element for your health. But in some cases these contacts are incorrect, for example if bad habits move...

Various types of prostheses may be carried out on implants in the same manner as the root of the teeth. Fixed prosthesis implant Crowns and bridges can be made on implants. One or more prints are made and the crown or bridge is then made by a...

To keep a healthy mouth, we must adopt a balanced diet. Above all, avoid snacking between meals and sugary sodas. The damage snacking Digestion begins in the mouth with chewing. At the same time, the acidity of the oral cavity increases to facilitate the breakdown of food....

After installation of a dental implant, the postoperative (discomfort, bruising, possible pain) are tightly controlled and supported appropriately to each. What are the postoperative? After the introduction of implants, various reactions may occur: Pain: it depends primarily on the size of the intervention, that is to say...

Indications and cons-indications A dental implant is similar to an artificial root. It occurs most often in the form of a titanium screw in the bone of the jaw. It replaces or the roots of a missing tooth and serves as a support to make a...

Various cosmetic defects of the oral cavity are treated with a tissue graft (sampling and movement under anesthesia for a piece of gum).   Gingival graft and recovery from a recession of the gums Some recessions of the gingiva are treated by covering the denudation of the tooth...

The enamel of the tooth is slightly porous, tobacco, tea, coffee, some mouthwashes can give your teeth an unsightly stain. My teeth are stained, what to do? Food colorings (coffee, tea, wine ...

The aesthetics of the smile and the smile has become essential for the patient and dentist.   Preserve or restore harmonious smile becomes a constant concern in the daily exercise of professional. then we talk about cosmetic dentistry or cosmetic. Aesthetic rehabilitation techniques are detailed and patient in...

Blog

Depuis les travaux de l’équipe du Pr. Bränemark à Göteborg (Suède) sur l’ostéointégration, l’implantologie a fait des progrès considérables et est devenue une technologie hautement spécialisée.   Grâce à de nouvelles techniques chirurgicales, un plus grand nombre de patients peut maintenant bénéficier d’implants. Les statistiques d’implantologie se...

La couleur naturelle des dents Comme toutes les personnes sont différentes, la couleur des dents de chaque individu l’est tout autant. Il existe quatre familles de teintes de couleurs naturelles de dents, telles qu’illustrées ci-contre : Auburn (brun-rougeâtre) (A); Jaune-rougeâtre (B); Gris (C); Gris-rougeâtre (D). Cette palette comprend...

Les progrès de l’informatique permettent au chirurgien-dentiste de simuler la pose d’implants dentaires à l’aide de logiciels sophistiqués.   Principe de simulation du positionnement des implants Afin de calculer le volume osseux disponible pour placer les implants, le praticien réalise un scanner ou un cone beam,...

L’élimination de la plaque dentaire permet d’éviter les caries et les problèmes parodontaux. Des règles simples permettent d’assurer une bonne hygiène bucco-dentaire.   Idéalement trois brossages par jour sont recommandés. En pratique, deux brossages quotidiens minutieux permettent d’obtenir une hygiène satisfaisante, si la gencive est en...

Comme pour les dents naturelles, une hygiène rigoureuse et un suivi régulier sont nécessaires pour le maintien en bonne santé des implants dentaires.   Les complications implantaires Les complications infectieuses : les implants, comme les dents, peuvent se déchausser. Le déchaussement des implants (également appelé péri-implantite) est...

La gamme de dentifrices proposée en pharmacie et en supermarché est très vaste. Voici quelques conseils pour vous y retrouver.   Quels sont les principes actifs des dentifrices ? Les dentifrices peuvent contenir divers principes actifs (antiseptiques, antiinflammatoires, fluor, calcium, etc…) qui leur confèrent des propriétés différentes. Actuellement, le...

La santé bucco-dentaire est étroitement liée au bon fonctionnement de l’ensemble dents et gencives mais elle est aussi en relation directe avec notre état de santé général et notre bien-être.   Quelques conseils : Démarrez les soins dentaires précocement et brossez les dents de bébé avec une pâte...

A quoi servent les facettes ? Les facettes sont de fines lamelles, réalisées dans un matériau esthétique (composite ou céramique) qui se placent sur la face extérieure de la dent. Elles permettent de remplacer des restaurations sur les dents antérieures disgracieuses ou d’embellir le sourire de...

Pourquoi commencer un traitement orthodontique ? Le traitement orthodontique vise à corriger une mauvaise position des dents, des mâchoires entre elles ou des dents par rapport aux mâchoires, a n de retrouver une dentition optimale sur deux plans : Plan esthétique : en alignant les...

Les aphtes correspondent à de petites ulcérations qui se forment sur la muqueuse buccale. Leurs origines restent floues même si de nombreux facteurs favorisants sont désormais bien connus.   La fatigue, le stress, la consommation de certains fromages à pâte dure (comme le gruyère), de certains fruits...

Des instruments à mettre entre toutes les dents Le brossage seul ne permet d’éliminer que 50% de la plaque dentaire. Il est donc indispensable de compléter son action par des brossettes ou du fil dentaire. Les espaces situés entre les dents, appelés également zones interdentaires, sont...

A quoi servent les facettes ? Les facettes sont de fines lamelles, réalisées dans un matériau esthétique (composite ou céramique) qui se placent sur la face extérieure de la dent. Elles permettent de remplacer des restaurations sur les dents antérieures disgracieuses ou d’embellir le sourire de...

Votre santé bucco-dentaire en 6 points   « Je suis enceinte : mes dents sont-elles plus fragiles ? » Non, pas plus qu’avant mais vous devez garder de bonnes habitudes pour votre alimentation et votre hygiène buccodentaire en utilisant une brosse à dent souple et un dentifrice fluoré....

Les dents et leur parodonte (gencive et os de soutien de la dent) peuvent être les portes d’entrée d’infections bactériennes pouvant entraîner des pathologies générales graves.   Origine de l’infection située au niveau de la dent Si une dent abîmée ou fracturée n’est pas soignée rapidement, la pulpe...

Est-ce que les enfants sont plus sujets aux caries que les adultes ? Les enfants ont tendance à manger plus d’aliments cariogènes (sucres, acides présents dans les sodas…). Or, les dents de lait sont plus fragiles que les dents définitives, ce qui facilite la déminéralisation...

La mise en place chirurgicale des implants peut paraître impressionnante. Il s’agit pourtant d’une intervention relativement rapide dont les suites se déroulent très bien, dans la grande majorité des cas. Mise en place des implants dans une clinique ou au cabinet dentaire La mise en place d’implants...

Les implants dentaires jouent le rôle de racines dentaires artificielles et sont placés dans l’os des mâchoires. Afin de garantir un ancrage suffisant pour la prothèse, les implants doivent être mis en place dans un volume osseux suffisant. Lorsque le volume osseux est trop faible,...

Occlusion dentaire : ensemble des contacts établis entre les dents du maxillaire (fixées au crâne) et les dents de la mandibule (qui est mobile). Avoir une bonne occlusion représente un élément capital pour votre santé. Mais, dans certains cas, ces contacts ne sont pas corrects, par exemple...

Différents types de prothèses peuvent être réalisés sur des implants, de la même manière que sur la racine des dents. Prothèse fixée sur implant Des couronnes et des bridges peuvent être réalisés sur des implants. Une ou plusieurs empreintes sont effectuées et la couronne ou le bridge...

Pour garder une bouche saine, il faut adopter une alimentation équilibrée. Et surtout, éviter les grignotages entre les repas ainsi que les sodas sucrés. Les dégâts du grignotage La digestion commence dans la bouche grâce à la mastication. Dans le même temps, l’acidité de la cavité buccale...

Après la pose d’un implant dentaire, les suites opératoires (gêne, hématome, douleur éventuelle) sont bien maîtrisées et prises en charge de manière adaptée à chacun. Quelles sont les suites opératoires ? Après la mise en place d’implants, diverses réactions peuvent apparaître : Une douleur : elle dépend...

INDICATIONS ET CONTRE-INDICATIONS Un implant dentaire est assimilable à une racine artificielle. Il se présente le plus souvent sous la forme d’une vis en titane placée dans l’os de la mâchoire. Il remplace la ou les racines d’une dent absente et sert de support pour réaliser...

Différents défauts esthétiques de la cavité buccale sont traités à l’aide d'une greffe gingivale (prélèvement et déplacement sous anesthésie d’un morceau de gencive).   Greffe gingivale et recouvrement d’une récession de la gencive Certaines récessions de la gencive sont traitées en recouvrant la dénudation de la racine dentaire...

L’émail de la dent étant légèrement poreux, le tabac, le thé, le café, certains bains de bouche peuvent donner à vos dents une coloration disgracieuse. Mes dents sont tachées, que faire ? Les colorants alimentaires (café, thé, vin...

L’esthétique des dents et du sourire est devenue primordiale pour le patient comme pour le praticien Conserver ou rétablir un sourire harmonieux devient une préoccupation permanente dans l’exercice quotidien du praticien. Nous parlons alors de dentisterie esthétique ou cosmétique. Les techniques de réhabilitation esthétique sont détaillées et...