What is a dental implant?

Indications and cons-indications

implant_02A dental implant is similar to an artificial root. It occurs most often in the form of a titanium screw in the bone of the jaw. It replaces or the roots of a missing tooth and serves as a support to make a crown, bridge, denture.

When will we put an implant?

An implant can be set up, immediately after the tooth extraction or after healing of the bone and gum. The surgery is often simple and painful. It is done under local anaesthesia as for the treatment of caries.

The final prosthesis is performed after solidification of the bone around the implant (within 2 to 6 months). Under certain conditions, a temporary prosthesis may be established immediately after installation of the implant.

Indications and cons-indications

implant_03

For an implant, it is necessary that the volume and the quality of the jaw bone are sufficient. These parameters are generally measured using a scanner. However, it is also possible to increase the volume of bone using a bone graft. It is also important that the neighbouring teeth and gums are healthy.

 

A medical questionnaire will rule out any against-indications: irradiation of the face high risk of infective endocarditis (infection of a heart valve by bacteria of the mouth). The cons-indications are more common: poor hygiene, smoking, uncontrolled diabetes, taking anticoagulants …

Our advices

  • The implant is used to replace one or more teeth without affecting other teeth, and offers a prosthesis both fixed and comfortable.
  • A single missing tooth can destabilize the entire mouth. If it is not replaced, it is the first step toward loosening or multiple tooth loss process.
  • If you are concerned, you must, as all holders of implants, watch an extremely rigorous hygiene and carry out checks regularly.

Qu’est-ce qu’un implant dentaire ?

INDICATIONS ET CONTRE-INDICATIONS

implant_02Un implant dentaire est assimilable à une racine artificielle. Il se présente le plus souvent sous la forme d’une vis en titane placée dans l’os de la mâchoire. Il remplace la ou les racines d’une dent absente et sert de support pour réaliser une couronne, un bridge, prothèse amovible…

QUAND POSE-T-ON UN IMPLANT ?

Un implant peut être mis en place, soit immédiatement après l’extraction d’une dent, soit après la cicatrisation de l’os et de la gencive. L’acte chirurgical est souvent simple et peu douloureux. Il se fait sous anesthésie locale comme pour le traitement d’une carie.

La prothèse définitive est réalisée après la solidification de l’os autour de l’implant (dans un délai de 2 à 6 mois). Dans certaines conditions, une prothèse provisoire peut être mise en place immédiatement après la pose de l’implant.

INDICATIONS ET CONTRE-INDICATIONS

implant_03Pour poser un implant, il faut que le volume et la qualité de l’os de la mâchoire soient suffisants. Ces paramètres sont généralement évalués à l’aide d’un scanner. Cependant il est aussi possible d’augmenter le volume osseux à l’aide d’une greffe osseuse. Il est également important que les dents voisines et la gencive soient saines.

Un questionnaire médical permettra d’écarter d’éventuelles contre-indications : irradiation de la face, haut risque d’endocardite infectieuse (infection d’une valve du cœur par des bactéries de la bouche). Les contre-indications relatives sont plus fréquentes : mauvaise hygiène, tabac, diabète non équilibré, prise de médicaments anticoagulants…

NOS CONSEILS

  • L’implant permet de remplacer une ou plusieurs dents sans affecter les autres dents, et offre une prothèse à la fois fixe et confortable.
  • Une seule dent absente peut déstabiliser toute la bouche. Si elle n’est pas remplacée, c’est le premier pas vers un processus de déchaussement ou d’édentation multiple.
  • Si vous êtes concerné, vous devez, comme tous les porteurs d’implants, observer une hygiène dentaire extrêmement rigoureuse et effectuer des contrôles très régulièrement.
No Comments

Post A Comment